Laura Mercier Setting Powder

IMG_5950

Today I wanted to give some light to one of my favorite makeup products. I have been using this product constantly for almost two years now. It’s my all time favorite setting powder, the Laura Mercier Setting Powder. This translucent powder pairs well with the other makeup products in my routine to help add to a flawless natural face. I have purchased this setting powder 3 times. There is a reason I have bought so many times. I truly feel this is one of the best makeup products ever. Keep reading to see my overall thoughts on the Laura Mercier Setting Powder.

How I use: Once I have applied my primer and foundation, I use a beauty blender to apply the powder to my face. I let the powder stay on while I do my eyeshadow and mascara. If I am not doing any eyeshadow for the day or putting on mascara, then I will let the powder sit on my face for 5-10 mins, depending on how much extra time I have. Ideally, the longer the powder is ‘baking’ on your face, the better. Baking has many benefits for completing the process. My number one reason for baking and using the powder is to help control oil on my face. I  That essential takes me to my next point, oil control.

DSCF6350-1

Oil Control: I have very oily skin! I am not kidding! I can wear no products on my face and my face will still be oily. Even if I have some beauty products on my skin, my face will still get oily. To prevent or minimize the oil I produce, I try and incorporate all oil free products in my makeup and skincare routines. The Laura Mercier Setting Powder is an oil free product! This is what instantly drew me to the product. The loose powder also provides natural coverage and has a matte finish to it. This is not a foundation powder, but a setting powder so providing coverage is not its top priority. However, the powder does provide a sheer coverage.

Long Lasting: Besides using this product for oil control, I also use it to help my makeup last and stay on for an extended amount of time. Having oily skin, sometimes I have to wipe or pat my face throughout the day. Even though I do this, I have found that my makeup stays on my face and still looks just as good as when I originally applied it. I do not use the Laura Mercier Velour Puff that comes with the product to apply the powder. To apply the powder onto my skin, I use a regular beauty blender then to buff the powder into my skin I use the Bareminerals Handy Buki Brush.

46252-lauramercierpng.png.660x0_q80_crop-scale_upscale

Color/Shade: Although this powder is essentially white, since it is translucent, it blends into any skin shade perfectly. Being a woman of color, I was hesitant at first that I would look cakey after using. I can say, this powder has never made me look cakey! It really does blend evenly into the skin. The powder does come in two different shades: Translucent & Translucent Medium Deep. I have not tired the Translucent Medium Deep shade because I really like the Translucent shade. However, after I finish this bottle of the powder, I may try the Translucent Medium Deep shade.

Price: The setting powder comes in two different sizes: a mini size and a standard size. The mini size is $23 and the standard size is priced at $38. I have purchased both sizes before and feel that you get your money’s worth! I know mini size products sometimes do not feel worth it for the price, however, I used the mini size Laura Mercier setting powder every time I did my makeup and it lasted me for a couple of months. I most recently upgraded to the full size and I can tell this container will last for a long time as well. Although it is an expensive product, it is worth it to have in your makeup collection!

Please let me know if the Laura Mercier Setting Powder is one of your makeup favorites! Or if you have another setting powder you love, please let me know!!

Thank you so much for checking out this post! Below are some of my favorite post that you may like as well!!

Be sure to follow me on social media Twitter  Instagram Pinterest 

6 thoughts on “Laura Mercier Setting Powder

Leave a comment