The battle of the buffing brush vs. kabuki brush

IMG_1168

My favorite three makeup brushes that I use to apply my foundations and powders are: the Real Techniques Buffing Brush, the Sigma F80 Flat Kabuki Brush, and the Morphe m439 Brush. These brushes are very similar but have few differences. Overall each can be used to apply liquid foundations,powder foundations, and powders.

Real Techniques Buffing Brush-This is probably my most used makeup brush ever. Out of all the brushes I own, I use this one the most. This buffing brush is great for foundations. Instead of gliding your foundation on or striking it, the brush buffs the foundation onto your skin. Using this brush leaves your face with a natural look. This is what I like most about this brush. I like for my makeup to look good but natural looking at the same time. I have washed this brush a lot of times and it still remains in good quality. You can find this brush and other Real Techniques brushes at Target, Ulta, and Walmart.

Morphe m439 Brush-When I first used this brush I was hoping it would be used for my foundations. I quickly did not like the way it made my foundations look. Every youtuber has this brush and they all love it for their foundations. Unfortunately I was unable to enjoy it. I knew that this was a really good brush. It was very soft and the bristles were good quality. Plus I paid a lot of this brush so I didn’t want it to go to waste. I decided to try this brush out with my MAC Studio Fix Powder. I instantly fell in love with how it applied. This brush is very similar to the buffing brush in which it buffs the powder onto my skin without looking patchy. It also gives a natural look.

Sigma F80 Flat Kabuki Brush-This is my most recent/newest brush. Although its the newest, I have been using this brush so much. I first tried to use this brush with my Tarte Amazonian Clay Foundation, but that was a quick no. Then I used the brush with my Bareminerals foundation and it works perfectly. It works well with this foundation instead of the Tarte foundation, because it is a liquidy formula, whereas the Tarte has a thick formula. Sigma brushes are the softest brushes I have ever come in contact with. I love the way they feel on my skin. If you have sensitive skin, try using a Sigma Brush.

Buffing Brush- Best for thick foundations, matte foundations, powders, mineral or loose products.

Kabuki Brush- Best for liquid and dewy foundations, blushes, bronzers

 

3 thoughts on “The battle of the buffing brush vs. kabuki brush

Leave a Reply

